An archaeologist in Algeria

Well the title is a little presumptuous since I am still in Rome and mentally packing my bag whilst waiting for a tram. But the sentiment is there.
Am off tomorrow morning for ten days of adventure in the esteemed company of brilliant academics who revel in the archaeology of Roman North Africa. And then there is me. An archaeologist who is more at home in Pompeii or chasing up and down a field doing geophysical survey. I am distinctly on holiday in Algeria. An archaeological busman’s holiday perhaps, but a holiday nonetheless.
Leg one of the journey takes me from Rome to Algiers and then an internal flight to Constantine. Then we drive to Guelma. I am a visual person so here is how I see the first stages of the journey. A Michael Palin-esque map with animated routes, this ain’t.

20130322-182146.jpg

Leave a Reply

